top of page
Search
  • Dominique Knowles

Jack Flora



Hi I'm Jack! I’m from a town in south western Virginia called Radford. There's a small college there (Radford University) which makes up the majority of the population. My dad was a professor there for higher education, and my mom lived in Charleston, West Virginia during most of my childhood. I lived in probably 10 different houses growing up; We moved a lot because my dad had the habit of getting himself involved in marriages that only lasted a year or two. I was a serious swimmer in middle through high school. I swam for a Pre-olympic swim club called h2okies, and for a long time I seriously thought I'd be an Olympic swimmer, but practicing every single day for 5 hours was miserable and I didn't feel very welcomed into that community. I didn't really start seriously getting into art until around my sophomore or junior year of high school. I got the opportunity to be a part of a summer Governor's School for Visual and Performing Arts at Radford University. One of the professors there took me under his wing as kind of a sort of apprenticeship and really sparked my creative flow and desire to be an artist.



Can you tell us about your work?

I'm most comfortable with painting and drawing, but I'm really interested in the intersections between painting, performance, ceramics, fashion, and sculpture. My stronger work transcends the stereotypical, turning it into something unique and magical; something that evokes the feelings of life and its many intoxicating mysteries. My works typically address my experiences in the world, especially in relation to my queer identity and spirituality. I like to think of my paintings as pieces of queer magic.

Process, image and care are very important factors in my paintings. It's important for me to consider all aspects of the works, which often means painting the sides as well as the backs of the canvases. I like hiding secrets in my paintings by veiling complex emotions into small details of the paintings. My work creates a personal visual vocabulary of queer magic through the use of symbols, sigils, and image. My work aims to question and reject the norms of patriarchal capitalist society in hopes that we may enter a new era of love and acceptance whilst restoring balance with the goddess and healing the world. The alien moteph portrayed throughout many of my works is a representation of the collective neurosis surrounding the rise of capitalism, toxic paternalism, patriarchal society, censorship, among many other issues and the lack of efficient communication to approach these issues properly. The alien is also in many ways the portrait of my own superego designed to heal and restore balance in the world. It is a warming sign and it is a symbol of magical unity.



What would you like your work to communicate?

My work says many things to many different people; the interpretation is up to them. To me they say “heal” and “forgive,” or “look here,” “love me,” and “hate me.” To me they say everything I need them to say or not say.


Does your work comment on social or political issues? And if yes, How?

I’d say my work comments mainly on issues of identity, spirituality, and life experience, so since those often overlap with socio-political issues, it could be interpreted that way by the viewer, yes. .


What artists are you currently looking at or inspired by?

Karla Knight, Hilma Af Klint, Alex Gray, Howard Finster, Elijah Burgher, Jordy Kerwick


Are there any art world trends you are currently following?

I think mixed media works are pretty popular right now. Also art in relation to technology is a big topic in the art world that I’m fascinated with currently. I've made a lot of mixed media work in the past. I used to really love assemblage painting.

Technology is also a topic I like to address in some of my works. I love talking about artificial intelligence and simulation theory.


What is your favorite art material and why?

Acrylic paint is my go to material because it's cheap, it dries quickly, and is really easy to clean. It's really helpful for fast painters to be able to create layers without having to wait too long.


What is your experience with painting that brought you to this point? In an interdisciplinary program like SAIC, how did you land on painting? Was it always a love or did you find a passion for it at SAIC?

I've always been interested in the idea of creating sacred spaces when I was younger. I used to cover the walls of my bedrooms with images, drawings, and art to make me feel comforted or at peace in the space. I think painting is one of the most important aspects to creating a sacred space and that's why I've Always been drawn to it.


What has been your favorite class at SAIC?

I've enjoyed many of my classes at SAIC, however the ones that stand out to me are because of the students. Nothing is worse to me than a class full of students who aren’t engaged; those who don't speak and are not contributing to the class dynamic, which happens far too often in my opinion. That being said, I've enjoyed all of my teachers. I don't think I've had a single teacher that I didn't like or wasn't accommodating to me. Some really memorable classes were large format ceramics with Mark Stanford, intro to fashion with Kylee Alexander, and performing the social with Trevor Martin.



Do you have an Instagram page you would like us to share?

Yes, my instagram is @artbyjackflora



How has the transition to a home studio affected your practice?

Have you been able to maintain a fruitful practice in a new innovative way?

Transitioning to home studio hasn't affected my practice too much; it has been affecting my anxiety which in turn probably affects my art. I was in the midst of a really good creative flow when school closed due to the pandemic, so it definitely hasn't been the same, but I'm slowly getting back to that same creative energy.


How long have you been in Advanced Painting?

Just this one semester.


What has been your favorite part of being in Advanced Painting?

Having a studio space that I could call mine own was really nice, as well as having three professors for more helpful feedback.


Has your work changed a lot through your time in Advanced Painting?

Yes, I think it's definitely progressed. My process has also changed a lot as well; I paint a lot faster now than I used to. Working on multiple different things at a time.


What would you say to a student on the fence about applying to Advanced Painting?

I'd say go for it




The Alien, ink pen on paper, 10h x 8w in




The Alien at 11:11, acrylic paint, glitter, collage on canvas, 39h x 16w in





These Bodies are Made of Bodies, mixed media, crocheted trash bag, mirrored acrylic, masonite board, acrylic paint




Katabas is Within, mixed media, acrylic paint, collage on canvas, 45h x 30w in




Book IX Hermetic Corp., acrylic paint on canvas, 59h X 49w in.




Untitled , Acrylic paint and glitter on canvas, 59h X 49w in.



66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page