top of page
Search
  • Dominique Knowles

Hanna Hunter

Hi I'm Hanna. I was born in Washington state, but moved to California at 10 and have spent the majority of my life in San Diego.




2020, acrylic, water, acrylic skin, 30h x 45w in.



Can you tell us about your work?

My work is based on images taken from several NASA telescopes including but not limited to Spitzer and Hubble. I have always loved watching the stars and have an amateur passion for astronomy. My paintings, while based on astronomical data and research are abstract and seek a connection between the human body, our world, and the grander cosmos in which all matter was born, exists, and will return to.






2020, Acrylic, course pumice gel, water, 40h x 70w in.

2020, Acrylic, water, course pumice gel, interference violet paint, 35h x 25w in.

2020, Acrylic, water, 45h x 40w in.

2020, Acrylic, water, interference violet paint, 40h x 60w in.

(respectively)



What fascinates you in painting? In an interdisciplinary program like SAIC, how did you land on painting? Was it always a love or did you find a passion for it at SAIC?

I never expected to find myself at an art school, let alone following my passion for painting this far. My interdisciplinary experience at SAIC has been less about finding new ways of making and more about taking varied academic classes from which I can pull and use in future works.


What has been your favorite courses at SAIC?

I absolutely love Nancy Feldman. I took her Medieval objects and pilgrimages art history class and it was such a wonderful experience. I also really love Peggy Macnamara’s Scientific Illustration. It’s so nice to have the class at the Field Museum and to focus more on just drawing what you see.


Do you have an Instagram page you would like us to share?

My art Instagram is @hanna.paints



How has the transition to a home studio effected your practice?

I have downsized my work quite a bit in order to keep making. I don’t really have a studio space here at home.

Have you been able to maintain a fruitful practice in a new innovative way?

The work I am currently making is completely a biproduct of the quarantine. Rather than continuing to focus on such a large scale as the universe, my work has become more intimate as I am painting my immediate surroundings. This means paying attention of the space I am living as well as my family.

How long have you been in Advanced Painting?

This is my second semester. I also took the summer class.

What has been your favorite part of being in Advanced Painting?

Having a studio.

Has your work changed a lot through your time in Advanced Painting?

Absolutely. In the summer of 2019, I was straight up painting jellyfish. Now my work is abstract and has continued to evolve as I investigate the material I work with as well as just what I am thinking about in the studio.

What would you say to a student on the fence about applying to Advanced Painting?

Do it. Absolutely. There’s really nothing to lose if you don’t get in, but everything to gain when you do. Working with different professors is an amazing experience and it’s really a great opportunity to grow in your practice.



Awesome, thank you Hanna!



48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page