top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureApril Shao

Justin Ortiz

Justin Ortiz is an artist from Mount Kisco, New York who studied in Chicago.


Overhang, Oil on Panel, 10" x 10.5" x 0.5", 2019



AS: What artists are you looking at or inspired by?


JO: I have been looking at Philip Hinge, Joe Speier, Rafael de la Cruz, Allen Brewer, Richard Clifton-dey, Pierre Klossowski, MRZB, Maren Karlson, Kira Scerbin, Will Sheldon, Nicolas Guine, Bora Akinciturk, Otto Schatz, Stefan Hoza, Michael Williams, Dozie Kanu, James Herman, and Michael Swaney.

I chose them because they're ones that I've gone back to recently to figure more out about. All make kind of confusing work that takes a while for me to unpack, for one.


Untitled, 8.5"x13", Graphite on Paper, 2020


AS: Are there any art world trends you are currently following?

JO: I have been closely following the scene of DIY and off-site art spaces mainly exist on the internet. Tzvetnik and AQNB are resourced that publish openings from these spaces regularly. Check out their websites! I started a project called Garthim at garthim.biz and we have an article on Tzvetnik to be read here:


AS: What is your favorite art material and why?

JO: I really enjoy drawing with pencils right now, I don't think I will ever not like it. I use Dixon Ticonderoga no. 2 HB pencils to draw. I think they have a really wide range of marks in them. Here is a drawing I made with one:


Image courtesy of the artist.



AS: Do you have an Instagram page you would like us to share?


JO: You can see my work and other pictures I wanted to share at jortiz_____.


Untitled, 8.5_x11_ graphite on paper, 2020

AS: Have you been able to maintain a fruitful practice in a new innovative way?


JO: Yes, lately I have been using Michael's pre-stretched cheap canvases to make drawings and paintings on with graphite and gouache. They're really nice looking and save me a lot of time. The weirdness and imperfection of a factory canvas is like the weirdness of drawing printer paper and I really like starting with that. I have been making paintings which are mostly just sealed drawings and I have never done that before, I see a lot of ways to continue it right now.


Abducted and Measured, 13.5" x16.5", Graphite on Paper

AS: How long have you been in Advanced Painting?


JO: I have been in advanced painting for three semesters. I'm glad I stayed for the maximum length, it helped me to focus on what I was making when I had that much time.


AS: What would you say to a student on the fence about applying to Advanced Painting?

JO: I don't know what you are on the fence about in particular and maybe it just isn't the right thing for you, but for one semester at least you would have a chance to really hibernate within your practice and get some clarity on what you're doing. Whether you solve one problem or a bunch of them is up to you, but I think having the focus is really valuable in general.


(This is a text-based interview, and the content has been lightly edited.)



Some of Justin's previous works:


Love Swirl, Oil on Panel, 11" x 14" x 0.5", 2019


Up, Oil on Panel, 9" x 12" x 1.5", 2018



Time of the Preacher, Oil on Cotton, 18" x 24" x 1.5", 2018



Hill Jamie, Oil on Linen, 18" x 24" x 1.5", 2018



63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page